canigetthatrecipe

Lemon Lover’s Pound Cake

In Uncategorized on April 23, 2011 at 6:48 am

Bob is a huge fan of lemon anything.  I was looking for a pound cake recipe that I could serve with fresh strawberries.  I found one on Allrecipes, but changed it up a little bit.  Turned out so delicious!  Sweet, dense, and very lemon-y!

3 C flour
3 C sugar (I used 2 C sugar & 8 packets splenda)
1 C butter
1 C sour cream (I used fat free)
6 eggs (I used Egg Beaters)
1/4 t baking soda
Zest of 1 lemon
Juice of one lemon
1 T vanilla
Poppy seeds

Grease and flour a bundt pan.

Mix all ingredients in large bowl with mixer. Pour into prepared pan and bake at 350 for 1 hour. Invert onto a plate, allow to cool and glaze.

To make glaze, juice 1 lemon. Add enough powdered sugar until desired consistency forms. I used a dash of milk and some vanilla too. Spoon over cake and allow to cool.

Leave a Reply

