canigetthatrecipe

What can I make for an afternoon of football and beer?

In Uncategorized on November 14, 2010 at 4:30 pm

This was the question my friend, Cyndy, asked me during a shopping trip today. At my house, nothing goes better with football and beer than nachos!  I shared this recipe with her, one that I had found over 10 years ago in “Men’s Health presents: A Man, A Can, A Plan.”  We have been making this recipe every football Sunday ever since…Bob’s favorite!

“Mondo Nachos”

1 can Hormel turkey chili with beans (I often substitute my own, homemade chili when I have it on hand)

1 block cream cheese (I use a 1/3 less fat)

tortilla chips

shredded cheese (I use a Mexican blend)

jalapenos

additional toppings, as desired (such as black olives, salsa, onions, cilantro, sour cream)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Microwave the chili and cream cheese on high for 1 minute increments until the cheese is melted, stirring after each minute.  Spread a layer of chips in a 13×9 pan -or- on a foil-lined jelly roll baking sheet.  Layer the chips, then chili, then shredded cheese, repeat.  Bake for 20 minutes, or until bubbly.  Top with additional toppings as desired.

Leave a Reply

